School Program: Window to the Past

Hastings School Tour May 2022

Engage Your Students’ Hearts and Minds

Grade Four and Five Social Studies and Language Arts Unit

Roedde House Museum’s School Program offers hands-on activities for your students and supports and enriches the Grade 4 and 5 Social Studies and Language Arts Curricula. The program includes a tour of the house with experienced docents at a cost of $4/student along with access to the downloadable “Roedde House Museum : Windows to the Past” curriculum and an artefact kit to explore in your classroom.

To book a tour or obtain more information, contact Roedde House Museum by phone 604.684.7040 or by emailing us at

Roedde House Museum is in the heart of Vancouver’s West End. Exploring this historic house will provide a multifaceted look at the everyday life of a young middle class immigrant family in the early years of the 20th Century.

Support the School Program

You can show your support of the Roedde House School Program by donating online or by cheque made out to: Roedde House Preservation Society. Donations of $100 enable an entire class to visit the museum and take part in the full program with access to the curriculum and artefact kit (transit costs not included).

Book a Class Tour

We are now booking for the 2022/23 School Year. Tours are available on Thursday mornings and the charge is $4/student. For more information please contact or call the office at 604.684.7040.

Subsidies may be available (please inquire for more information).


This resource reflects the collaborative effort of professionals. For their contributions to the development, piloting and editing of the final document, the authors and the Roedde House Preservation Society would like to thank:

Eve Haveman, Teacher, Vancouver School Board
Jerry George, Consultant
John Lawrence, Consultant
Mary Locke, Teacher-Librarian, VSB
Dr. Jay Powell, UBC, Department of Anthropology and Sociology
Randy Rotheisler, Video producer, VSB
Mariette Smith, Teacher, VSB
Jim Taggert, Architect in Schools Program, AIBC
Loma Wing, Anti-Racism Consultant, VSB

And for her excellent clerical work, thanks are due to Pat Dymond, VSB.

Finally, generous funding for this resource has been received from the following foundations by the Roedde House Preservation Society:

TELUS Vancouver Community Board – An Innovative Project Funded by the TELUS Vancouver Community Board. This Board was launched in January 2006 to allocate funding for innovative programs which involve youth and/or technology in the areas of arts and culture, education and sport, health and well-being.

The Leon and Thea Koerner Foundation
The Chris Spencer Foundation
The Hamber Foundation

Revision and Edition for the 2010 version:
Holly McMillan
Adonna Rudolph
Jenny Yule

Jane Kinegal, Architect, Teacher with Richmond School Board
David McMillan, Consultant
Helene Perndl, Museum Manager, RHM
Maryann Kempthorne, Media, Library & Technology, Vancouver School Board
Daniel Bolanger, French Immersion Consultant, Vancouver School Board

Yassine Baba Ahmed: Design
Jessica Gnyp: Photography and illustrations
Denis Lebrun: Web development
Bénédicte Schoepflin: Translation
Jean-François Jutras and Anthony Norfolk: Project Managers